Having a Moment

hey followers, how are y’all doing? Me, I’m struggling at this exact moment.. may I lean on you? I might be slightly inebriated and feeling a whole lot of emotion so forgive me if this comes across the needy…

I am my husband‘s soul caretaker during his journey of dementia. I have walked this walk a couple of times before; but, neither of those trips were as emotional as this one. My husband and I have been together going on 34 years; married; 2024 will be 31 magical years.

my beloved has dementia. And I feel very very alone. The changes that happen that no one else sees are devastating as I watch the man that I have loved my entire life deteriorating before my very eyes.

I don’t know if I will get to the other side. I don’t know how to do this; with my folks he was there- supportive during his own walk with his dad. We have children- they all have their own lives though… we have grands; but the idea of being a burden just doesn’t work for me.. So, I go alone with exception to a handful of folks that ensure we have our needs met.

I’m not feeling sorry for myself. What I feel is isolation. When a diagnosis of Alzheimer’s or dementia is made public- it’s amazing how many people check out. I’m not blaming anyone- this disease is fucking brutal; and it’s the final walk with your loved one.

I pray that anyone affected by this situation has a safe place to vent; a few people who have not turned away & faith to strengthen your soul.

That’s it. Me praying for anyone experiencing the same “long goodbye”. May you find peace and strength in your journey.

Til next time ~
The Domesticated Rebellion

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.